HBCU School Counseling Programs

Written by School-Counselor.org Editorial Staff, Last Updated: October 7, 2026

Twelve CACREP-accredited school counseling master’s programs operate at federally designated HBCUs, across eight states and Washington, DC. Most require 60 credits. Georgia has three programs, North Carolina has two, and six other states and DC have one each. All held current CACREP accreditation when we verified the register on September 30, 2026.

If you want to train as a school counselor at an HBCU, your options are specific and worth knowing by name. This page lists every CACREP-accredited school counseling master’s program at a federally designated historically Black college or university. It’s a directory organized by state, not a ranking, because where you plan to get certified usually matters more than anything else on the list.

All 12 CACREP-Accredited HBCU School Counseling Programs

StateInstitutionDegreeCACREP StatusMaster’s Graduates (2023)Best For
ALAlabama State UniversityM.Ed.AccreditedNot reportedMontgomery students aiming at Alabama’s Class A certificate
DCUniversity of the District of ColumbiaM.S.Accredited1A public-university option in the District
GAAlbany State UniversityM.Ed.Accredited27Working teachers who want an online Georgia program
GAClark Atlanta UniversityM.A.Accredited (Reaffirmation in Process)3A private program in the heart of Atlanta
GAFort Valley State UniversityM.S.Ed.Accredited17Summer-start online cohorts in middle Georgia
LAXavier University of LouisianaM.A.Accredited1Training that includes your own counseling experience
MDBowie State UniversityM.Ed.Accredited15DMV students who want local school placements
MSJackson State UniversityM.S.Ed.Accredited26Study in Mississippi’s capital city
NCNorth Carolina A&T State UniversityM.S.Accredited10Afternoon and evening classes in Greensboro
NCNorth Carolina Central UniversityM.A.Accredited13Choosing between online and campus study
SCSouth Carolina State UniversityM.Ed.Accredited (Progress Report Required)12Choosing an elementary or secondary focus
VANorfolk State UniversityM.A.AccreditedNot reportedHampton Roads students entering PreK-12 counseling

How this list was built. Every program here is accredited by CACREP as a School Counseling program, verified against the CACREP register on September 30, 2026. Any program whose CACREP status shows a teach-out, closure, show-cause or withdrawal is excluded, because a reader cannot reliably enroll in it. Inclusion is based on the federal HBCU designation recorded in the U.S. Department of Education’s IPEDS data, not on how a university describes itself. Programs are listed by state, not ranked. Graduate counts are the master’s completions each university reported to the federal IPEDS survey for 2023 under CIP code 13.1101. That count covers the whole university, so a school running more than one counseling master’s reports them together, and “Not reported” means the university reports its graduates under a different code, not that it has none. Tuition figures shown in the program profiles come from each university’s own website, never from third-party sites, and each was recorded with the page it came from, a quote containing the rate, and the date checked. For public universities the figure is the rate an out-of-state student pays, because this is a national list. Residents of that state usually pay less. Full program tuition is the published per-credit rate multiplied by the credits required, and mandatory fees are excluded so programs compare on the same basis. Where the published rate cannot be tied to this specific program, the profile says “Contact the program” rather than estimate. Scholarships and discounts are not applied. Tuition changes, so confirm the current rate with the university before you enroll, and remember that CACREP accreditation is not the same as state approval: check the requirements of your state’s education or educator certification agency.

Clark Atlanta University’s CACREP accreditation cycle ends October 31, 2027.

What Counts as an HBCU

The term has a legal definition, and this list sticks to it. Under the Higher Education Act of 1965, an HBCU is an accredited institution established before 1964 whose principal mission was, and is, the education of Black Americans. The U.S. Department of Education maintains the designation, and it’s recorded in the federal IPEDS data system.

That definition matters here because it’s checkable. Some universities describe themselves in ways that suggest HBCU status without holding the federal designation. This list includes only institutions the Department of Education recognizes, so every school below can be verified against a federal source, the same way every program can be verified against the CACREP register.

The Programs, State by State

Programs are listed by state. Each profile starts with the student it fits best, then describes what the program offers, drawn from the university’s own pages and the CACREP register.

Alabama State University: School Counseling (M.Ed.)

Best for: Montgomery-area students aiming at Alabama’s Class A school counselor certificate

Location: Montgomery, AL  |  Credits: 48-51
Format: Ask the program
CACREP: Accredited through October 31, 2030

Alabama State says students completing the M.Ed. are eligible for Class A Certification in School Counseling (P-12) from the Alabama State Department of Education. At 48 to 51 semester hours under the university’s current graduate bulletin, it’s also the lowest credit requirement on this page. The program sits in a counselor education department whose stated mission is preparing counselors for both schools and community agencies, so you’ll train alongside future clinical and agency counselors. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 2011, and it’s the only CACREP-accredited school counseling program at an Alabama HBCU.

Admission runs through the Murphy Graduate School and includes an interview and a writing sample with the counselor education faculty. That’s a program that wants to meet you before it admits you.

Good to know: Eligibility for the Class A certificate is the university’s claim, and Alabama’s educator certification agency makes the decision. Contact the program for its current cost.

University of the District of Columbia: School Counseling (M.S.)

Best for: DC students who want a public-university option in the District

Location: Washington, DC  |  Credits: 60
Format: Mostly face-to-face, per the university
CACREP: Accredited through March 31, 2028

UDC is the District’s only public university, and its M.S. in Counseling with a School Counseling concentration is the only HBCU option on this list inside DC. The university says the program was designed to accommodate full-time students and working professionals alike, with classes that are mostly face-to-face. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 2009.

UDC also describes a dual licensure advantage: it says the degree helps graduates pursue both school counseling certification through OSSE, the District’s education agency, and an LPC through the DC Department of Health. Those agencies decide both credentials, not the university. Admission requires a minimum 3.0 GPA.

Good to know: This is a small program. The university reported one master’s graduate under the federal counseling code in 2023, which can mean small cohorts and close faculty contact, but ask about class sizes and course rotation. Contact the program for its current cost.

Albany State University: School Counseling (M.Ed.)

Best for: Working Georgia teachers who want a fully online program

Location: Albany, GA  |  Credits: 60
Format: Online
Published tuition: $50,400 at the university’s 2026-27 rate
CACREP: Accredited through October 31, 2031

Albany State’s M.Ed. in Counselor Education with a School Counseling concentration is the least expensive program on this page with a published rate: $50,400 at $840 per credit. That’s the university’s published 2026-27 rate, with the credit count taken from the program’s published plan of study and not confirmed with the university. The university describes the program as 100% online, and CACREP’s directory lists the program’s delivery type as online. The university also says many of its school counseling students are employed as teachers who keep those jobs while enrolled. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 2013.

The program admits cohorts for summer and fall only, and applicants interview with the admissions committee. The university says graduates are eligible for Georgia’s T-5 certification in school counseling, and the curriculum runs at least 60 semester hours plus an ePortfolio.

Good to know: CACREP’s directory lists the program’s delivery type as online. Confirm the current cost with the university before you enroll.

Clark Atlanta University: School Counseling (M.A.)

Best for: Students who want a private program in the heart of Atlanta

Location: Atlanta, GA  |  Credits: 60
Format: Ask the program
Published tuition: $66,660 at the university’s 2026-27 rate
CACREP: Accredited (Reaffirmation in Process) through October 31, 2027

Clark Atlanta was created in 1988 by the consolidation of Atlanta University and Clark College, and its counselor education department carries that inheritance into a stated vision of preparing ethical change agents who promote a more just society. The M.A. in School Counseling is approved by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission as a program leading to school counselor certification, and the department says its coursework prepares candidates for Georgia LPC licensure and the National Counselor Examination. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 2009.

It’s one of two private universities on this list, and the pricing reflects that: $66,660 at the university’s published 2026-27 rate, with the credit count taken from the published plan of study and not confirmed with the university.

Good to know: The program’s CACREP status is Accredited (Reaffirmation in Process), and its current cycle ends October 31, 2027. Ask the program about the reaffirmation timeline, and confirm the current cost before you enroll.

Fort Valley State University: School Counseling (M.S.Ed.)

Best for: Summer-start online cohorts in middle Georgia

Location: Fort Valley, GA  |  Credits: 60
Format: Online, as described by the university
CACREP: Accredited through March 31, 2030

Fort Valley State, an 1890 land-grant university founded in 1895, says its M.S.Ed. meets the educational requirements for Georgia’s Professional School Counselor Certificate, Level 5. The online format launched in 2020 and the university says it was built for adult and nontraditional students. New students start together each summer, and the university credits its cohort model and low faculty-to-student ratio for student success. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 2011.

Fieldwork is concrete here: a 600-hour internship, 300 hours per semester, performing the actual duties of a school counselor under a practicing school counselor’s supervision. Practicums may run in a school or clinical setting, but internships must happen in a school. FVSU says its candidates seeking Georgia’s clear renewable school-counselor certificate must meet additional requirements that include the applicable GACE assessments, a state technology-competency requirement, and, if not previously completed, coursework on exceptional children.

Good to know: Online delivery is as described by the university. CACREP’s record does not confirm the format. Contact the program for its current cost.

Xavier University of Louisiana: School Counseling (M.A.)

Best for: Students who want personal counseling built into their training

Location: New Orleans, LA  |  Credits: 60
Format: Ask the program
CACREP: Accredited through March 31, 2033

Xavier, founded in 1925 and historically Black and Catholic, runs a 60-credit M.A. with school counseling as one of two specialization tracks. One requirement stands out: the program mandates an individual counseling experience for every student while enrolled. You’ll sit in the client’s chair before you sit in the counselor’s, which tells you something about how seriously this program takes self-awareness as a counseling skill. The curriculum aligns its school counseling training with American School Counselor Association standards. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 2014.

Admission requires GRE or MAT scores (minimum 280 GRE or 380 MAT, taken within five years) and two confidential recommendations. The university reported one master’s graduate under the federal counseling code in 2023, so expect a small cohort, and ask the program how many school counseling students it enrolls.

Good to know: No published tuition figure is shown for this program. Contact the program for its current cost.

Bowie State University: School Counseling (M.Ed.)

Best for: DC-Maryland-Virginia students who want local school placements

Location: Bowie, MD  |  Credits: 60
Format: Ask the program
CACREP: Accredited through April 30, 2034

Bowie State’s M.Ed. carries the longest accreditation runway on this page. The department announced in February 2026 that CACREP reaffirmed its school counseling and mental health counseling programs through 2034. Fieldwork is structured as a 100-hour practicum followed by a 600-hour internship, and the university describes a long-standing practice of placing interns with Prince George’s County Public Schools. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 2015.

The department has been building upward, too. In spring 2024 it launched the university’s first Ph.D., in Counselor Education and Supervision with a specialization in social justice counseling, which means master’s students study in a department with doctoral-level faculty activity around them.

Good to know: We couldn’t tie a published tuition rate to this specific program, so contact the program directly for its current cost.

Jackson State University: School Counseling (M.S.Ed.)

Best for: Students who want to train in Mississippi’s capital city

Location: Jackson, MS  |  Credits: 60
Format: Online, as described by the university
CACREP: Accredited through October 31, 2032

Jackson State describes itself as an HBCU and comprehensive urban research university, and its campus sits in Mississippi’s capital city. The M.S.Ed. runs 60 graduate credit hours through the Department of Counseling, Rehabilitation and Psychometric Services, and the university says the degree meets Mississippi’s requirements for school counselor certification through the state Department of Education. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 2008, and with 26 master’s graduates reported in 2023, it’s one of the larger programs on this list.

The internship runs 600 clock hours across two semesters. The university describes the program as online, though CACREP’s record doesn’t confirm the format, so verify delivery details with the program.

Good to know: The Mississippi certification claim is the university’s, and the Mississippi Department of Education makes the decision. Contact the program for its current cost.

North Carolina A&T State University: School Counseling (M.S.)

Best for: Greensboro-area students who want afternoon and evening classes

Location: Greensboro, NC  |  Credits: 60
Format: Afternoon and evening classes, per the university
Published tuition: $62,127 at the university’s 2026-27 out-of-state rate
CACREP: Accredited through April 30, 2033

NC A&T has the longest CACREP track record on this page. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 1999. Classes generally meet from 3:00 to 5:50 p.m. or 6:00 to 8:50 p.m., which leaves mornings free for work or fieldwork, and the GRE is optional. Students who want clinical preparation alongside school counseling can pursue the university’s double major with its CACREP-accredited clinical mental health counseling program.

Full program tuition is $62,127 at the university’s published 2026-27 rate of $1,035.45 per credit for out-of-state students, with the credit count taken from the published plan of study and not confirmed with the university. North Carolina residents pay less.

Good to know: Confirm the current cost with the university before you enroll. If the double major interests you, our dual licensure guide covers how A&T structures it.

North Carolina Central University: School Counseling (M.A.)

Best for: North Carolina students choosing between online and campus study

Location: Durham, NC  |  Credits: 60
Format: Online or on campus, as described by the university
CACREP: Accredited through October 31, 2030

NC Central gives you the same 60-hour M.A. two ways: the university says the program can be completed on campus in Durham or fully online. It says students get every experience the NC Department of Public Instruction requires for professional school counselors, preparing graduates for K-12 licensure in North Carolina. North Carolina DPI requires the Professional School Counselor Praxis exam for licensure. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 2004, and the program reported 13 master’s graduates in 2023.

The online track admits for fall only, with a February 1 application deadline, a 3.0 minimum GPA, two recommendations, a personal statement, and an interview. If you’re a working teacher weighing formats, that single annual intake is worth planning around.

Good to know: Online delivery is as described by the university. CACREP’s record does not confirm the format. We couldn’t tie a published tuition rate to this specific program, so contact the program for its current cost.

South Carolina State University: School Counseling (M.Ed.)

Best for: Students choosing between an elementary and a secondary focus

Location: Orangeburg, SC  |  Credits: 60-63
Format: Face-to-face, per the university
CACREP: Accredited (Progress Report Required) through October 31, 2029

SC State’s 60 to 63 credit-hour M.Ed. in Counselor Education splits into elementary and secondary school counseling options, so you specialize in the age group you plan to serve. The university says graduates of the CACREP-accredited program are eligible for initial South Carolina certification as professional school counselors, and courses run face-to-face in Orangeburg. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 2004.

Program life extends past the classroom. Students connect through the Palmetto State School Counselor Association, the American School Counselor Association, and Rho Lambda Mu, the program’s counselor education honor society.

Good to know: The program’s CACREP status is Accredited (Progress Report Required), with its current cycle running through October 31, 2029. That’s CACREP’s own label, and the program remains accredited. Contact the program for its current cost.

Norfolk State University: School Counseling (M.A.)

Best for: Hampton Roads students entering PreK-12 counseling

Location: Norfolk, VA  |  Credits: 60
Format: Ask the program
CACREP: Accredited through October 31, 2033

Norfolk State is the newest program on this list. Its school counseling graduates have counted as CACREP graduates since 2023, and its first accreditation cycle runs through October 31, 2033. School counseling is a PreK-12 concentration within the university’s counseling master’s, built on a minimum of 60 semester credits with a clinical practicum and a two-semester internship sequence. The curriculum includes a course you won’t see everywhere: school counselor classroom management, a practical nod to the reality that counselors spend real time in front of whole classrooms.

The program’s stated mission centers on serving diverse communities through advocacy, inclusiveness, and accessibility. Admission requires three letters of recommendation, a personal statement, and a resume.

Good to know: The university doesn’t publish graduate counts under the federal code used on this page. No published tuition figure is shown for this program, so contact the program for its current cost.

Choosing Among These Programs

Start with the state where you plan to work. A school counselor is certified by a state, not by a program, and each state’s education or educator certification agency sets its own requirements for coursework, fieldwork, and exams. Here’s how school counselor certification works in your state. A CACREP-accredited degree usually travels well, but it doesn’t guarantee certification anywhere. If you’re in Georgia, you have three HBCU options, so review the Georgia school counselor certification requirements before comparing them. If you’re in a state with none, you’ll be weighing an out-of-state move or an online format against your home state’s certification rules.

That’s where delivery format gets complicated. Four of these universities describe their programs as online: Albany State, Fort Valley State, Jackson State, and NC Central. CACREP’s directory confirms Albany State’s online delivery. For the other three, the format is the university’s description, so verify the details with each program. One more wrinkle worth knowing: CACREP policy requires synchronous skills experiences for students entering on or after July 1, 2026, so a fully self-paced counseling degree isn’t really on the table anymore. Ask each program how its online students complete practicum and internship hours, because those typically happen in person at a school site.

Accreditation dates deserve a look too. Every program here is currently accredited, but cycles end on specific dates, and you can verify a program’s CACREP accreditation yourself before you apply. Clark Atlanta’s cycle ends in October 2027 and South Carolina State carries a progress report requirement. Neither fact disqualifies a program. Both are reasons to ask about the renewal timeline before you commit two to three years of your life.

Frequently Asked Questions

What makes a university an HBCU?

The federal definition comes from the Higher Education Act of 1965: an accredited institution founded before 1964 whose principal mission was, and is, educating Black Americans. The U.S. Department of Education maintains the official designation. This page uses that federal designation, not self-description, which is why the list can be verified against government data.

Are all of these programs CACREP accredited?

Yes. All 12 held CACREP accreditation for school counseling when we verified the register on September 30, 2026. Two carry qualified statuses: Clark Atlanta is Accredited (Reaffirmation in Process) and South Carolina State is Accredited (Progress Report Required). Those are CACREP’s own labels, and both programs remain accredited.

Can I complete an HBCU school counseling program online?

Four universities on this list describe their programs as online: Albany State, Fort Valley State, Jackson State, and North Carolina Central. CACREP’s directory confirms Albany State’s online delivery, and the other three formats are the universities’ descriptions, so verify with each program. Keep in mind that CACREP requires synchronous skills experiences for students entering from July 1, 2026, and fieldwork typically happens in person at a school. For more on how programs handle this, see our guide to online school counseling programs.

Do I have to get certified in the state where my program is located?

No. You get certified in the state where you plan to work, and that state’s education or educator certification agency sets the requirements. A CACREP-accredited master’s meets the degree requirement in many states, but coursework, fieldwork hours, and exam requirements vary. Check your target state’s rules before you enroll, not after you graduate.

Key Takeaways
  • Twelve programs, eight states plus DC: Every CACREP-accredited school counseling program at a federally designated HBCU is on this page, most at 60 credits.
  • Georgia leads with three: Albany State, Clark Atlanta, and Fort Valley State all hold CACREP accreditation, and North Carolina has two.
  • Verification is federal: Inclusion is based on the Department of Education’s HBCU designation and the CACREP register, checked September 30, 2026.
  • Formats vary: Four universities describe online delivery, and CACREP’s directory confirms Albany State’s. Most others run face-to-face or evening schedules, so match the format to your work life.
  • Your state decides certification: CACREP accreditation is not state approval, so check your state’s requirements before choosing a program.

If you’re comparing these programs against the wider field, start with the state where you plan to practice. Certification requirements vary, and your program should align with that state’s credentialing process before you enroll.

Explore School Counseling Master’s Programs

author avatar
School-Counselor.org Editorial Staff
School-Counselor.org covers school counseling careers, licensing and graduate programs. Program accreditation is checked directly against the CACREP register, licensing requirements against state departments of education and licensing boards, and salary figures come from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics with the data period stated. Every update is reviewed by a person before it's published. Licensing rules change often, so confirm current requirements with your state before enrolling. Read our editorial standards.